Dec 22, 2019 Ritesh Behal
General Data Protection Regulation – Compliance

GDPR is a guideline that expects organizations to secure the individual information and protection of EU residents. It updates and replaces the Data Protection Act 1998, and came into effect on 25 May 2018. It means to ensure the "individual information" of EU residents – includes how the information is gathered, stored, processed and destroyed. Any information that helps to identify the person comes under the GDPR compliance. For example, name, ID number, Biometric data, Sexual orientation, Health and genetic data, financial data, social or social character of that individual. This even incorporates IP addresses, cookie strings, social media posts, online contacts and cell phone IDs.


Who comes under GDPR

  • A company working in EU country.
  • A company working in non EU country but serve services to EU country residents.
  • A company has more than 250 employees.
  • A company has less than 250 employees but somehow sharing sensitive personal data to others comes under the GDPR. In short, all of the companies come under GDPR anyway. Even US companies consider GDPR as top priority.

Let’s understand this with below mentioned scenarios. 

A company deals with EU residents while company operates in US.


GDPR Standards should be following.


A San Fresco company does data analysis on EU residents data and help business to take decisions for EU countries.

GDPR Standards should be following.


A New jersey based company sell their products online in US only.

There is no need of following GDPR standards.


Positive Side of GDPR

  • Helps to create data standards.
  • Improve in Data Security.
  • Customers trust more on GDPR complaint companies.

Negative Side of GDPR

  • The High Cost of Compliance
  • Regular Updates in policies
  • High penalties 

Countries Affected by GDPR are 

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Romania
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands